Following the all-international Australian Open finals at MSAC on Friday the 12th of August, Squash Australia hosted the 2016 Annual Awards Dinner. The prestigious event played host to a star-studded crowd at the Mercure Hotel, Albert Park in Melbourne.

Congratulations to all who were nominated, and well done to the Award winners.


Volunteer of the Year

Nominees: Nicky Blenkinship (NT), George Deubler (NSW), Peter Saxby (NSW)
Winner: Peter Saxby

Coach of the Year

Nominees: Jarrod Ashcroft (NT), Thomas Calvert (QLD), Cassie Thomas (VIC)
Winner: Thomas Calvert

Junior Male Player of the Year

Nominees: Alex Eustace (QLD), Jacob Ford (NSW), Alex Oswald (SA)
Winner: Jacob Ford

Junior Female Player of the Year

Nominees: Jessica Graham (VIC), Alex Haydon (SA), Lakeesha Rarere (QLD)
Winner: Lakeesha Rarere

Senior Player of the Year

Nominees: Ryan Cuskelly (NSW), Christine Nunn (ACT), Cameron Pilley (NSW)
Winner: Cameron Pilley

Club of the Year

Nominees: Bendigo Squash Club (VIC), Briars @ Thornleigh (NSW), Cairns Squash Rackets (QLD), Karadinga Squash Club (SA)
Winner: Briars @ Thornleigh

State/Territory of the Year

Winner: Victoria


Referee of the Year

Winner: Brad Freeme

Brad commenced 2015 as a State level Referee in Qld, having first expressed interest in becoming a referee in September 2014. The major tournaments Brad refereed in 2015 included the Australia Day Challenge, Ipswich, NT Open, Australian Open and Queensland Open. He also attended the Squash Australia Refereeing Workshop in Melbourne in August 2015.

Squash Australia would like to thank everyone who attended the Awards Night and for each person’s generosity and support towards growing squash in Australia. The event would not have been as successful as it was without the support of key partnerships from Marsh Insurance, Ashaway, Dunlop Sport, Victor, Australian Institute of Sport, Australian Sports Commission, ACGA, McLeish Estate Wines, Briars Sporting Club and Tonic Squash and Gym.